Reblogged: Five Essential Lessons (and One Great Tip) I learned about Photography at the Santa Fe Photographic Workshops

One of my participants at the Santa Fe Workshops was journalist and traveler Susan Portnoy, who was a lot of fun to work with during our week together. She’s done a wonderful job distilling some key points of my approach to a photographic life on her blog, The Insatiable Traveler, as well as a similar post on Leanne Cole’s blog in Australia. I’m overjoyed Susan came away from the course with a sense of growth and newfound sight (as well as some sweet images!).

Santa Fe Photographic Workshops-Santa Maria bldg The Santa Maria building where I stayed and where breakfast and lunch was serve

The article below originally appeared this week on Leanne Cole Photography  but I wanted to share it here as well. I had a very meaningful experience as a guest of the Santa Fe Photographic Workshops and the lessons I learned, while still a work in progress, I think will have a major impact on my photography. It wasn’t an easy journey, in fact it was very frustrating at times but immensely satisfying in the end.  ~ Susan

When you first arrive at the Workshops, Reid Callanan, the company’s founder, will tell you that no matter what course you take the week is not about creating masterpieces, it’s about learning new approaches to photography, opening your mind and eye to fresh ideas and challenging your skills. It was all that and more.

My instructor was fine…

View original post 1,946 more words

Leave a Reply

