Sandhills Track, Sheridan County

Sandhills Track, Sheridan County

Sandhills Track, Sheridan County

I’ve always been fascinated with ideas espoused by the photographic movement of The New Topographers, including the work of Robert Adams, but also “Hand of Man” photographer David Plowden. Once one understands the complete loss of the natural landscape–yes, folks, it’s gone–it is moving to contemplate the ways in which our own interaction with the earth has been a symbiotic, destructive relationship.

8 comments

    1. Ditto. Plowden’s work is maddeningly brilliant, but I guess that’s why he’s a legend in the first place. 🙂

  1. I see a speck in that black void. That is encouraging, even if it is a faint ember of the lost, there is still something there.
    Those are very well placed clouds, and cloud shadows. Not sure how you make those arrangements, but I sure wish I had the same authority.
    I hate to admit my ignorance of the history of photography, but it is good to have some more photographers to go find out about.

    1. You’ve got a sharp eye–it’s a windmill. That’s one other element that I hid in the image, and it’s important as a piece of symbolism. Thanks for the compliment! It means a lot coming from you–your work is very strong.

      Glad I could help with the historical aspect, too–I’ve always found a healthy dose of the understanding of masters to be very helpful in creating better images.

Leave a Reply

