Tough Hands No. 4

Tough Hands No. 4

Tough Hands No. 4

Jim had great hands.

James Stanfield, a National Geographic photographer, once noted how a crowd would have only a few classic faces within it, and I think this extends to hands. As a result, I often begin looking at hands and faces when I’m presented with a new venue, and at my last branding–a large one with more than 35 people working–I found several of each.

Back to Jim. He was castrating calves for part of the morning, and would come back to the antiseptic bucket near the fire to clean his hands and knife. It had been deeply overcast and cold early, and nearly everyone wore gloves, so I missed Jim’s gnarled, strong, creased hands. But near 9 a.m., the weather had warmed, and the gloves came off. And I found hands.

2 comments

  1. I love this photo, and your description is perfect. Jim is my husband and I would really like to order this photo for Jim for Father’s Day. Please let me know how I go about ordering. Thank you

    1. Kelly,

      I’m very honored you like the photo. I’ve sent you an e-mail with details, and thanks for your interest!

      Best,

      B

Leave a Reply

