Tickle Me Red and Call Me a Leica: I’m Nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award

Okay, first a disclaimer: I’m a photographer, which means I love making images. For any shooter, that has to be enough, since one’s work is seldom praised, seldom recognized, and seldom purchased, especially when compared to products deemed more necessary to life, like gourmet food. Oh, yes, there’s a Food Network, but do you see a Photography Channel? Nope. Praise is elusive and, even when given, fleeting. Think of the most prolific statement by Patrick Demarchelier, the great fashion photographer: “You’re only as good as your last photograph.”

Therefore, I’m honored to have been nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award by my longtime fan Where God Takes Me (my daughter especially loves the name); as a twist on the old saying goes, tickle me red and call me a Leica.

The rules for the award are:

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. List seven random things about yourself.
  3. Nominate 10 other blogs.
  4. Notify the nominees.
  5. Display the award logo on your blog.

As far as the second requirement goes, I’m a whole bucket ‘o randomness here. Just ask my students (who often plead “Point? What’s the point?” as I say, “Hang on–it’s coming.”)

  1. I once worked as an outdoor recreation planner for the US Department of the Interior, creating mountain biking booklets and rock climbing surveys. Nearly every day, I thought, “Can you believe I get PAID to do this?”
  2. I’m a gourmet cook and bake my own artisan breads (I think an addiction to food as art is closely related to the sensuality and emotional high of making photographs and other art). I make photographs of my best creations.
  3. I own a classic BMW motorcycle. That pees drive shaft fluid. Ugh.
  4. One of the greatest moments in my life was when my idol–one of the great National Geographic photographers–became my friend and mentor.
  5. The other moments were when I married my wife, and watched the birth of my daughter and son.
  6. My favorite painter is Caravaggio.
  7. Many of my photographs draw their compositional influence from the concepts found in Japanese gardening.

Here are the 10 blogs:

  1. One Day, One Image: Melinda Green Harvey (who, despite her professed “search for identity,” is a very interesting person and prolific image maker)
  2. Cue in Form (my assistant, Liz)
  3. The Sagebrush Sea
  4. Claire Atkinson
  5. Alessandro Ciapanna (the master of photographic wit)
  6. Photo Lord
  7. El Bueno (Whoa. ‘Nuff said.)
  8. WestEastern
  9. A Traveler’s Tale
  10. Via Lucis Press (Dennis Aubrey)

Again, I’m very honored and grateful to Where God Takes Me for the award. But, as an aside, the real honorees are the people who are the subjects of my documentary work; without their existence, I’d have nothing.

So here’s to the PlainSky, Nebraskans.

One comment

  1. How sweet that your daugher likes Where God Takes Me. I like numbers 4 and 5 on your list. And we share an interest in cooking. I just made my husband a batch of deep dark chocolate ice cream.
    Cheers,
    Vivian

Leave a Reply

