PlainSky, Nebraskans: Leif and Claire No. 2, Lusker Ranch

Leif and Claire No. 2, Lusker Ranch

Leif and Claire No. 2, Lusker Ranch

Every photographer should have a day where he or she “shoots out of his or her shoes.”

Monday, May 28, 2012, was mine.

Leif Meidell and the family dog, Claire, were standing together on a sandy knoll behind the garage at the Lusker Ranch, and I was making images of the two when Leif looked to the southwest horizon in an unguarded moment.

Without any doubt, I think this is the best image I have ever made. It’s better than I am, far better, but that’s irrelevant.

My only hope for it, however, is that others may just see it with the same sense of emotional intensity it holds for me.

2 comments

  1. It’s a wonderful photo, full of promise and tenderness. A child looking off toward the horizon, almost as if his future lay before him there. With his dog in his arms, his hat pulled down over his eyes, it’s a strong image and iconic. great post…

    1. Thanks, Judy! I appreciate your compliment; the photo holds a very, very special place in my heart.

Leave a Reply

