New Student Work: Chloe Ekberg

Omaha Fashion Week, by Chloe Ekberg Hastings College Junior Photojournalism Student

Omaha Fashion Week, by Chloe Ekberg
Hastings College Junior Photojournalism Student

Chloe Ekberg is one of the finest student photographers with whom I’ve had the pleasure of working. Her talent is exceptional, as is her drive; in fact, the critical difference in this business of professional photography is just that, drive. There are many, many visually acute people, but few take the initiative to train–truly train. That process means high levels of constructive criticism, technical mastery, and repeated visual exercise.

Chloe does just that, and often just for fun. See her photos at her blog.

Her work from the Omaha Fashion Show is stunning at a level that spurred me to call a colleague of mine who works for one of Nebraska’s largest newspapers (Chloe already works for them as a freelancer), and encourage him to start passing her name around as much as possible. That’s not something I do very often; as my students will attest, as well as my colleagues in the business, I’m very hard to please photographically–especially by myself or my students. For example, I don’t allow my students to use any setting except manual. Why? I’m a student of Ansel Adams, who also felt that in order to be a virtuoso (either on the piano or camera), one had to be a technical master. Chloe is well on her way to this level of expertise.

Take a look. You’ll be impressed–especially since she’s not even a senior in college.

Leave a Reply

