Heceta Head Lighthouse, Yachats

Heceta Head Lighthouse, Yachats

Heceta Head Lighthouse, Yachats

I used to live on the Oregon coast, and amid the cacophony of photographic opportunities, I was often drawn to the lighthouses and their inherent visual romanticism. The Heceta Head lighthouse, with its precarious position reaching into the Pacific, was about 40 minutes north of my home, and I visited often, looking to express the essence of the place. One evening, as a westerly storm drew nearer on the horizon to the south, with its gale winds tearing at my tripod, I made this 30-second exposure of the lighthouse, the Pacific ocean smoothed into giant, glass-covered swells.

2 comments

    1. Thanks–to shoot the image in the gale force wind, I had to prop the legs of my Manfrotto tripod against the side of my car to keep it steady. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

